Saint Louis looked pretty different in 1894 than it does today. Men wore bowler hats instead of flatbills, and WC Handy had just written his hit song The St. Louis Blues. Folks galloped on horseback alongside Skinker Boulevard in the newly created Forest Park, and there was no Gateway Arch. But there was a boathouse, and there were ducks.
Dining on the banks of Post-Dispatch lake is a part of our town’s history. Food and boating are natural companions, and The Boathouse at Forest Park has fed intrepid navigators since its construction almost twenty years ago.
This year, the Boathouse is being reestablished as a place to fuel up and then cast off. Explore the 22 acres of waterways that wind around two islands, and are home to fish, frogs, dragonflies, egrets, kingfishers, and of course, our ducks.